Prayer

22 May

A few years ago, my relationship with God was challenged.  I mean really challenged.  I was doing what I’ve done since I was 18 yrs old, serving in the kingdom of God.  When one day, life threw a curve ball my way, and everything I thought I stood for, I began to question.  Out of no where, I couldn’t trust anyone, couldn’t tell anyone what I was going through, how I was feeling…I felt so alone.  I started believing every lie the devil threw my way.  His voice became louder than God’s voice.   I knew everything he was saying wasn’t true, things like, “You’re too far gone, you can’t go back now.” “People are never gonna look at you the same,” “You’re always gonna be labeled as a failure.” …but I believed it.   I stopped praying, stopped reading my bible, stopped believing, but I didn’t stop going to church.  As much as I didn’t want to be there, something kept drawing me. Thank God for that! Eventually, I rededicated my life to Christ and God has restored all that was lost in that time.

Last week during our Sunday School class, our pastor was talking about prayer, when all of a sudden, I got a revelation.  As Christian’s we are not exempt from struggling with sin, nor are we exempt from going through trials, which is why prayer is so vital in our walk with God. I heard this a million times over the years)   Looking back, I see that my prayer life struggled long before the trial ever occured.  I was so busy “serving,” that I put my prayer life on the back burner and somewhere along the way, I was riding on my husband’s relationship with God and I didn’t even know it!! Scary, I know!  God showed me that I wasn’t too far from Him, I was just a prayer away!  All I needed to do was pray, and that is exactly what satan kept me from by pounding me with lies.  If I had a strong, solid prayer life then, I know with out a doubt that I would’ve handled things a lot differently and I would’ve had an assurance that Christ would pull me through, but instead I had nothing to hold on to, which caused me to fall into a dark, deep pit that I never thought I’d get out of.   Thank God for His mercy and grace! Without Him I don’t know where I’d be right now.  I’ve been through several other trials since this one, and I’m proud to say that it is  prayer that has pulled me through.  Make it a habit to pray…it’ll save your life!

“Then you will call upon Me, and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.  I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back from captivity.”  Jeremiah 29:12-14

One Response to “Prayer”

  1. melody May 23, 2013 at 5:02 am #

    So encouraging!

Leave a Reply

