Not a fan

25 Sep

Last night our church had our first Ladies book club. We’re reading a book called Not a Fan by Kyle Idelman, which I highly recommend, especially if you want to be challenged in going all out for God.

image

He first starts off by defining the difference between a fan and a follower.

Fans are not willing to follow Jesus if it means hurting those they love, such as family and friends. Fans want to share Jesus with other “things.”  They want to compartmentalize Him and put Him in a little box to make them feel good about what’s really in their heart.

We can’t mix Jesus with our fleshly desires.

“He said to them, Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.”
Mark 8:34

As followers of Christ, we must love Him more than…..(you fill in the blank)

*Family/Friends
*Job
*Education
*Material things

The list can go on & on and it’s different for everyone. But the point is, Christ has to be #1 in our lives, above everything…and yes, even above our loved ones, as much as that may hurt.

image

16 years ago, I made a decision to deny myself, take up my cross and follow Jesus.

In this time, I’ve had my high times, where it’s been easy to “take up my cross” and follow Him and I’ve had my low times, to where taking up my cross was a very difficult thing to do…but I did it anyway.

Just because we’re followers of Christ doesn’t mean we’re exempt from trials.
Trials are a part of life, but I’d much rather go through it with Jesus by my side, that’s for sure!

A follower makes a decision everyday to follow Christ.  They are so committed that they are willing to die for Him.

Am I really willing to die for Christ?

To some, that may sound a bit radical, maybe because it is,  but a Completely Committed follower won’t even give it a second thought.

That’s an extreme case, to actually die for Christ. But on a smaller level, as followers we  should be dying to the flesh on a daily basis. Like waking up early to pray, reading our bible, overcoming temptations, whether that be blatant sin OR not eating that donut that you know isn’t good for you. 🙂

I choose to be a follower of Christ. To keep Him #1 in my life. To be the ruler of my heart. He is the Light to my Path, and wherever He leads me is where I’ll go.

I love Chris Tomlin’s song:

Where you go, I go. Where you stay, I stay. If you move, I move. I will follow you.

image

Jesus doesn’t want fans…He wants followers.

Completely. Committed. Followers.

5 Responses to “Not a fan”

  1. indianchristianvoice September 25, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    Yes…..true all the way. Jesus Christ never came to start a religion. He came to make us his followers. John 14:6 (KJV)”Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me”.

  2. melody nava September 26, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    Amen! Love this post. 🙂

  3. domesticjenne September 26, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    Well put. You never cease to inspire me to better my relationship with God.

  4. pastorwacker September 27, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    I remember the first time you came to church…from sinner .. to skeptic … to absolutely beautiful Sacrificial Saint…amazing…great post…what’s greater is to see and know you live this in your everyday life…and to know that God could call us … any day … any place … for anything and you would pack up and go…wow…humbling…Completely. Committed. Followers. Nice.

  5. Shoma January 5, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

    Gonna look for this book

Leave a Reply

