One Stubborn Tear

7 Mar

image

Look who turned 14 on Monday!! You have no idea (maybe you do?!) how crazy it feels to have a teenager in the house.

I was only married for 4 months when I found out I was pregnant with him.

I had gotten all 4 of my wisdom teeth taken out and I remember the lady who checked me in asking me if I could be pregnant. I assured her that there was no possible way that I could be, since I was on birth control.

So we went on with it. They hooked me up to the IV, knocked me out, and before you know it, they’re wheeling me out in a wheelchair so my friend can drive me home and be on the road to recovery.  Simple as that, Right?

WRONG!

I threw up the whole drive home AND for the next few weeks! My body was trying to tell me something, but I wasn’t hearing it. People all around me kept asking me if I could be pregnant, and my response was always, “No, there was No way!” I kind of started to get annoyed after awhile.

Some time went on and we went on an outreach to Corpus Christi and you’ll never guess what I did the whole way there and back???

Yup, you guessed it… Ummm… for the sake of being too descriptive, let’s just say, I had “morning sickness” that whole entire trip! (and for the next 6 months!)

That’s when it dawned on me, ” Maybe I AM pregnant!?!?!?” (It takes me a while to get things sometimes!)

The next 8 months fly by and before you know it, I’m holding a 5 pound 11 ounce brown hair, brown eyed baby boy, screaming for food. (I should’ve known then that he was gonna be my big eater!!) Lol Till this day, he is ALWAYS hungry… no starving…no joke!

image

image

image

So here we are 14 years from that day celebrating the life of my first child, my son. And my heart couldn’t be more full.

image

Yes, we’ve tasted our first official “teenage year,” where I thought alien’s abducted my precious obedient son, who trusted my every word and never questioned my authority and replaced him with a stubborn, hard headed child!

But miraculously, after lots of prayer and long, frequent father-son talks with dad, and a few bumps & bruises…we survived it! Yay!

He’s changed in so many ways. A few days before his birthday, I had a heart to heart talk with him about guarding his testimony & purity. As we were talking, it dawned on me that my baby is growing up, and yes, i got a little emotional. I tried so hard to hold the tears back, but 1 stubborn tear didn’t listen, and as it rolled down my cheek, i locked eyes with my son, and he just smiled and hugged me.

That is a moment I will forever hold in my heart.

image

Happy birthday, Son! You may drive me crazy sometimes. You may eat all of our food. And I may not laugh at all of your jokes, but we love you so much and are proud of the young Godly man you’re becoming!

5 Responses to “One Stubborn Tear”

  1. antoinette March 7, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Omg I teared up. He’s a great example and young man..be proud. You guys set great examples. Good job! Now I feel old after reading this lol

  2. melodynava March 7, 2014 at 11:49 am #

    You got me back and made me tear up with this. Grrrr! Lol. I love the pictures. You’re are an awesome mommy Nut! Crazy, a teen in the house! Julia thinks she’s a teen! She’s on her way Eeekkkk!!! Lord, help us! She’ll be 12 next month.

  3. PastorWacker March 7, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

    What a trip down memory lane…you did forget to mention our trip to six flags (while we were in denial!) … Wacker loves a roller coaster … we got him started when he was still in the womb!

    All three of our kids came as surprises! Gifts from God and true of John 1:12-14!

    G, you never cease to amaze me … you’re a virtuous woman … an awesome mother and a super cool wife…I love seeing our family’s journey chronicled here … and those pics … wow … time is precious … great post for a great son …

  4. genevawacker March 17, 2014 at 6:52 pm #

    My BruBru

  5. Elissa Davis March 27, 2014 at 12:22 am #

    Aww =’)

Leave a Reply

