Goodbye 2015…Hello 2016

6 Jan

Well, hello there friends.  It’s not unusual for me to be MIA from the blog world from time to time, but I think this is the longest I’ve been away.  There have been plenty of times where I’ve thought about blogging, but didn’t. Or those times where I did actually  sit down to blog,  but my mind would go blank. I like my posts to be encouraging or funny or uplifting.  Wait, doesn’t encouraging and uplifting  pretty much mean the same thing?! ๐Ÿ™‚ 

Anyway,  2015 seemed to be the year of goodbyes for me. (At least the second half of it was.) Like I mentioned in my last post, the boys we were caring for moved back with their mom in early May. They came back to live with us in August for 2 more months,  then it was time to say goodbye…again.  I think this time was harder than the first time because we all knew it was for good.  It was a sad goodbye for all of us.

During that time, my cousin and her baby moved in with us, too. They stayed here until baby boy went on to be with Jesus on October 18th…Another goodbye. I would have to say that was the hardest goodbye of all.

image

Saying goodbye to a 4 month old baby boy doesn’t seem fair at all. I’ve had my share of questions to God and trust me,  I’ve cried until I had no more tears left.  But I do know this, baby boy is in Heaven with Jesus. No more heart issues, no more needles, no more oxygen, no more feeding tubes, no more Dr’s and nurses and hospitals, no more meds, and no more pain. That is what comforts me, to know that he isn’t in pain anymore…to know that he is safe in the arms of Jesus…to know that he really is in a better place.

Then my husband answered the Call to be an Evangelist, so he’s away from home a lot more than we’re used to…we say goodbye to him more frequently, but those aren’t sad goodbyes! ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re all actually very excited.

image

All of these goodbyes happened in the same month. Thankfully,  All the sadness and pain that we may have experienced hasn’t rob us of our Joy. We hold fast to the promises of God and trust Him with our lives.

There is one more goodbye that I failed to mention….I said goodbye to being 36 years old in December…Hello, 37. Very nice to finally meet you!

image

Okay friends,  2015 has come and gone. Let this be a year of renewal. That’s my friend, Angela’s, word of the year.  Renewal. I like that.  It seems fitting for a new year.

What are some things you can renew this year?

image

7 Responses to “Goodbye 2015…Hello 2016”

  1. melodynava January 6, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

    Loved your blog Nut! It made me cry, smile, and reflect. So quick this year went by! I’m excited to see all the wonderful things God has for you guys this year! Miss you always, love Fudge

    • genevawacker January 11, 2016 at 12:18 am #

      I love when people comment on here,but I always look forward to yours!

  2. Lisa Gauna January 6, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    Love it! Of course it was a tear jerker for me thinking back of a couple of goodbyes I’ve had to say like to my Grandma it’s already been 3 yrs now and to Georgetown which will be 2 yrs in March. But, like you mentioned we hold fast to Gods promises and trust him with our lives. I’m excited for the New Year to see what God has in store for us! Something that could use renewing for me would be my Faith and Trust in God. Waiting on God as he guides us and gives us direction and reveals what he’d have for my family this next year.

  3. Kelly January 6, 2016 at 8:52 pm #

    I think I forgot your birthday! Happy Belated !! I’m sorry for your losses but happy and excited to see your hubby evangelizing ! Hopefully you guys can come here! That would be a party ๐ŸŽ‰

  4. thatlovelymess January 6, 2016 at 11:44 pm #

    Love it! What a great way to recap last year! You handled each situation with with love, grace and wisdom! I am truly excited for this new year and I’m looking forward to all that God is going to do in our lives. I want to renew my relationship with God and have a fresh new fire for Him!

  5. Heather Gutierrez February 23, 2016 at 5:13 pm #

    In anticipation of hearing your husband preach tonight for Pastor Donovan, I wanted to show my kids a pic of your family, and ended up hear on your blog! I have to admit I hadn’t read it until today, and wow, I had no idea you went through those hard times. I never want hard times for others, but it’s a comfort when you realize that you’re not alone in facing them personally. I also am stirred to get back to my blog, although it’s about India, and not much has happened in regards to it, yet. I guess I just have to hold onto hope that if God has called us to it (India), then He’ll make it happen at some point. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • genevawacker February 23, 2016 at 5:22 pm #

      I love writing in my blog and I love reading other blogs. I know you can’t tell that I love to write because I’m not the most faithful, but I promise you, I do! So yes, come back to the blog world! My hubby is gonna be excited to see y’all there tonight! Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

